2018-19 Honors and Awards

Joe Ali, JD, along with faculty from Addis Ababa University and George Washington University, received an NIH-Fogarty Bioethics Grant to continue the Fogarty African Bioethics Training Program in Ethiopia.

Megan Collins, MD, was selected as an outstanding faculty mentor with receipt of the 2019 Award for Excellence in Mentoring sponsored by the Scholarly Concentrations course.  This award recognizes the faculty mentor who best embodies the goals of the Scholarly Concentrations Program in fostering the spirit of independent scholarship among Johns Hopkins medical students.

Michael DiStefano, MBE, is the 2018 recipient of the Marcia Pines Award in Bioethics and Public Health for his paper, “Characterizing “civil unrest” as a public health determinant: Implications for public health research and practice” in the American Journal of Public Health.

Rachel Fabi, graduate of our PhD in Bioethics & Health Policy program, demonstrated the breadth of her knowledge by competing on Jeopardy on February 18th and 19th. Dr. Fabi won her first night on the show after a suspenseful round of Final Jeopardy.

Jess Fanzo, PhD served as a lead author of the 2018 Global Nutrition Report. The report shares insights into the current state of global nutrition, highlighting the unacceptably high burden of malnutrition in the world. It identifies areas where progress has been made in recent years but argues that it is too slow and too inconsistent. It puts forward five critical steps that are needed to speed up progress to end malnutrition in all its forms and argues that, if we act now, it is not too late to achieve this goal. In fact, we have an unprecedented opportunity to do so.

Elizabeth Fox, PhD, had her paper, “Capturing Changes in HIV-Infected Breastfeeding Mothers’ Cognitive Processes from Before Delivery to 5 Months Postpartum: An Application of the Pile-Sorting Technique in Haiti,” selected as Editor’s Choice in Current Developments in Nutrition.

Gail Geller, ScD, MHS, was appointed to serve on a Grant Review Committee at the Wellcome Trust to evaluate applications for the development of PhD programs in the UK.

Hecht-Levi Fellow Nicholas Jabre, MD, MS, along with Renee Boss, MD, was awarded a research grant by the Bauernschmidt Committee of the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center Eudowood Board. His proposal is titled “Long-term ventilation in children: parent perspectives on making the choice.”

The US National Academy of Medicine, US National Academy of Sciences, and Royal Society of the UK, with the participation of science and medical academies around the world have convened an International Commission on the Clinical Use of Human Germline Genome Editing. Jeffrey Kahn, PhD, MPH, will serve on the commission.

Jeffrey Kahn, PhD, MPH, along with Effy Vayena, PhD, Bioethics Chair at ETH Zurich, was awarded funding from the Stavros Niarchos Foundation for the formation of the Stavros Niarchos Bioethics Academy, for building bioethics capacity in Greece. Intensive bioethics courses for researchers and other health professionals will begin this June in Athens.

Mario Macis, PhD, MA, was appointed as affiliate faculty at the Berman Institute. Dr. Macis is Associate Professor of economics at Johns Hopkins University, Carey Business School, Academic Program Director of the MS in Health Care Management, and Associate Faculty in the Armstrong Institute at Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Maria Merritt, PhD, was recognized by the Bloomberg School of Public Health for her excellence in teaching in the 4th term. Her course was titled “Ethics of Public Health Practice in Developing Countries.”

PhD alum Summer McGee was named the first dean of the School of Health Sciences at the University of New Haven.


PhD student Christian Morales has been awarded a Disability Research Consortium Dissertation Fellowship from Mathematica Policy Research and the Social Security Administration. The fellowship will support his dissertation work on disability-related disparities in access to health care.

Marie Nolan, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, received the Distinguished Career Achievement Award from the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association. This award honors an individual who has made a major contribution in one or more of the areas of research and development, career path development, and education in palliative nursing.

The UCL-Lancet Commission on Migration and Health has published their report. The report provides a framework of migration as a dynamic process, providing evidence of the multiple factors that could be beneficial or detrimental to individuals and systems along the migration journey—at origin, transit, destination, and return. Leonard Rubenstein, JD, served on the commission.

The Johns Hopkins Center for Humanitarian Health released a reportReality Makes Our Decisions: Ethical Challenges in Humanitarian Health in Situations of Extreme Violence. Leonard Rubenstein, JD, was principal investigator.

Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN, received the 2019 Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award from Sigma Tau International Honors Society of Nursing.

Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN, was selected as a 2019 inductee into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, was appointed to a committee at the National Academy of Medicine to examine Systems Approaches to Improve Patient Care by Supporting Clinician Well-Being.

Brendan Saloner, PhD, won the Alice S. Hersh Emerging Leader Award by AcademyHealth. This award recognizes scholars early in their careers as health services researchers who show exceptional promise for future contributions to the field.

MBE student Hunter Smith, MD, MPH, was accepted into the Delta Omega Public Health Honor Society. Dr. Smith was also named theme issue editor for the AMA Journal of Ethics about ethics of pain management.

Holly Taylor, PhD, is serving as co-chair of the new Consortium to Advance Effective Research Ethics Oversight (AEREO), which will bring together experts to assess and improve human research protection programs and institutional review boards.

JHSPH students recognized our Travis Rieder, PhD, Maria Merritt, PhD, Holly Taylor, PhD, MPH, Zackary Berger, MD, PhD, and Brendan Saloner, PhD, along with Matt DeCamp, MD, PhD, and Adnan Hyder, MD, PhD, MPH for their excellence in teaching in the 2018-2019 academic year.