Internal Medicine Residents invited to submit applications for Jeremy Sugarman Award recognizing achievements in bioethics

July 16, 2020

The Johns Hopkins University Division of General Internal Medicine (GIM) invites applications for the fifteenth annual national competition for Housestaff GIM Research Awards. Seven awards are offered, each named for an internationally regarded mentor and researcher at Johns Hopkins with a faculty appointment in the Division of General Internal Medicine, including the Jeremy Sugarman Award recognizing achievement in bioethics.

Dr. Sugarman is the Harvey M. Meyerhoff Professor of Bioethics and Medicine; Professor of Medicine; Professor of Health Policy and Management; and Deputy Director for Medicine of the Berman Institute of Bioethics at the Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Sugarman is Chair of the Ethics Working Group of the HIV Prevention Trials Network, Co-Lead of the Ethics and Regulatory Core of the NIH Health Care Systems Research Collaboratory and Co-Chair of the Johns Hopkins Institutional Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee. Dr. Sugarman conducts both theoretical and empirical research in bioethics. He is renowned for his work on informed consent, research ethics and the ethical issues associated with emerging technologies.

The awards were established to stimulate interest in academic GIM and recognize outstanding house officers who have the potential to become leaders in GIM-related research. In addition to bioethics, awards are offered in:

  • Medical education
  • Clinical epidemiology and prevention
  • Population health and health system transformation
  • Health services and outcomes research
  • Behavioral medicine and health disparities
  • HIV-related research

Each award carries a cash prize and an invitation to attend a celebratory dinner and to present their winning abstract to the faculty of Hopkins GIM. Due to the pandemic, the celebratory dinner and presentations will be held virtually this year. Awardees are required to attend both events. Call-in information will be provided to winners as the date approaches.

The application deadline is September 14, 2020.

Full details, including submission information, are available here.